Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Overview of aerospace engineering

Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, find chemical and physical properties of materials, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of aerospace engineering | Recommended databases | Technical reports

  • CRC Engineering Handbooks Online - CRCnetBASE

        CRCnetBase
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

    CRC Engineering Handbooks Online - CRCnetBASE

    Search or browse across the full text of over 1800 CRC engineering handbooks. Each chapter is available as a downloadable PDF. Our subscription does not include every ebook available through CRCnetBASE; be sure to limit to "Full access content only" when searching.  

    Full record

  • ASM Handbooks Online

        American Society for Metals
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    ASM Handbooks Online

    ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of twenty-four ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions (the Engineered Materials Handbook and the Metals Handbook). All content is HTML.

    Full record

  • Knovel Online Interactive Library

        Knovel
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Knovel Online Interactive Library

    Knovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds. Limited to  simultaneous users.  

    Full record

  • Knovel Critical Tables

        Knovel
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Knovel Critical Tables

    This interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables include inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Each table is fully interactive and searchable by keyword and numeric property value. Additionally, several tables make use of the interactive Equation Plotter to plot thermodynamic properties as a function of temperature. 2nd edition, 2008. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

    Full record


    Larry Thompson


Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Related subject guides