Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Overview of animal and poultry sciences

Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, find biological descriptions of animals, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of animal science | Recommended databases | Early literature

  • Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI

        Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

    Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI

    Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) provides detailed information on agricultural and biological sciences. It contains datasheets (HTML and PDF) on livestock and the diseases that affect them, datasheets on food safety and quality, and datasheets on countries' statistical data on animal and economic production. It also provides PDF and HTML full-text documents on all aspects of food animals as well as an index to citations for agricultural publications and nearly 2,000 images. A geographic database contains country distribution data for diseases and breeds for use with GIS software. 1910s-present.  

    Full record

  • AnimalBase

        AnimalBase
    This resource is freely accessible

    AnimalBase

    AnimalBase provides copyright-free open access to zoological works and provides manually verified lists of names of zoological genera and species. It includes digitized books and journal articles, most from prior to 1900, in their original language. Documents display as scanned images; many can be downloaded as PDFs. You can also search or browse by species, genus, or family. 350 BCE-present.

    Full record

  • Biological Sciences encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

        Oxford Reference
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Biological Sciences encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

    Search or browse across 13 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 80,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

    Full record


    Kiri Goldbeck DeBose

  •     Kiri Goldbeck DeBose
  • Kyrille K Goldbeck DeBose
  • College Librarian for Natural Resources and Environment and Animal Sciences
  • (540) 231-0495
  • (540) 231-0419 (Cheatham Hall office)
  • kdebose@vt.edu
  • 310 West Campus Drive, Cheatham Hall Room 315B
    560 Drillfield Drive, Newman Library Room 4005
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.