Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ARCH 1016: Foundation design lab

Using the University Libraries

The University Libraries website will serve as the main portal for most of your research. From the main website, you will be able to:

Frequently used architecture and design databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost

    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles in architecture and design from American and international scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, and publications of professional organizations. In addition, this database also provides citation records for architects' obituaries. Full text, when available, is in PDF and HTML. 1800s-present.  

Full record

Art & Architecture Complete from EBSCOhost

    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Art & Architecture Complete from EBSCOhost

Art & Architecture Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, magazines, trade publications, and books covering all aspects of art and architecture. It also includes a large image collection. 1901-present.   

Full record

Art Full Text and Art Retrospective from EBSCOhost

    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only mobile interface available database provides Get VText links

Art Full Text and Art Retrospective from EBSCOhost

Art Full Text indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals and other publications in art, architecture, design, and cinema. It also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Some full text available as HTML and PDF. Allows limiting to peer reviewed sources. Citations 1929-1984, abstracts from 1994, full text from 1997.   

Full record

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index from ProQuest

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index from ProQuest

DAAI indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, news reports, and reviews on design and applied arts (including performing arts-related design). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.  

Full record

WorldCat from FirstSearch

    FirstSearch
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

WorldCat from FirstSearch

World Cat indexes citations of books, journal articles, newspapers, magazines, computer programs, maps, musical scores, videotapes, and websites. This database contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including Virginia Tech.  

Full record

Not an architecture and design database per se, but a useful resource for finding books and other materials not owned by Virginia Tech.

Get VText and Interlibrary loan

Some, but not all, of our databases will include full-text articles. When the article needed is not available in the database, look for the button to access the article elsewhere.

Use ILLiad, our interlibrary loaning system, to borrow books and obtain copies of articles not owned by the University Libraries. It's fast and easy to use.

Citation and style guides

Putting together a bibliography? Using citations? University Libraries offers a comprehensive web page about citation and style manuals. This page will guide you to both print and electronic resources.

Managing your research

Get your bibliography under control quickly and easily! Citation, or reference, managers are very helpful when you are collecting, organizing, and retrieving large amounts of research.  At University Libraries, we recommend the following tools for research management.  Although we only "officially" support EndNote and Zotero, I am happy to talk about other tools, as well.

Questions?

Schedule a one-on-one appointment with me if you have any other questions or concerns. A list of all college librarians is online.  If you have a question that needs immediate assistance, the reference desk at the Art + Architecture Library is staffed during all library hours.  You can also use our Ask a Librarian system for chat service.



Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.