Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Building materials

These databases provide information about the properties and uses of building materials.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of architecture | Recommended databases | Architectural drawings, case studies, and plans | Building materials

  • Material ConneXion

        Material ConneXion
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Material ConneXion

    Material ConneXion provides full-text data on materials used in architecture, interior and industrial design, fashion and apparel, and landscaping. Materials include polymers, ceramics, glass, metals, cements, and natural materials. Processing and sustainability information, physical and usage properties, and manufacturers are listed.  

    Full record

  • SmartBuilding Index from Reed Construction Data

        Smart Building Index
    This resource is freely accessible

    SmartBuilding Index from Reed Construction Data

    SmartBuilding Index provides architects, spec writers, engineers and contractors with in-depth information on commercial building products - including technical data, sourcing, cost data, project use examples, and downloadable specs, CAD and BIM objects.

    Full record

  • BuildingGreen Suite

        BuildingGreen Suite
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    BuildingGreen Suite

    BuildingGreen includes online versions of GreenSpec, "Environmental Building News", a database of green products (product descriptions and articles about the products), and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies (all in HTML). This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green building topic. 1992-present.  

    Full record



Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.