Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, find biographical information and examples of works, styles, or movements, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of art and art history | Recommended databases | Image resources
Oxford Art Online is a gateway to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources (Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms) in one location. References are linked via Get VText.
Search or browse across ten subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 25,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture. Use terms located here for searches in other databases.
The ULAN is a structured vocabulary currently containing around 293,000 names and other information about artists. Names in ULAN may include given names, pseudonyms, variant spellings, names in multiple languages, and names that have changed over time (e.g., married names). Among these names, one is flagged as the preferred name.
Biography in Context provides access to over 600,000 biographies in HTML sourced from reference works, news reports, magazines and academic journals. It provides links to related websites, images, audio, and video clips.