Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Building construction

Building construction combines the technical and managerial aspects of the construction industry. The required courses focus on construction, technical competency, and business. The program offers two track options where students take classes in structural, mechanical/electrical systems, engineering design, construction means and methods, building materials, real estate, and land development. This guide presents online resources for the study and professional practice of construction. The tools listed below range from disciplinary and interdisciplinary article databases (some containing full text) to indexes for standards and technical reports.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of building construction | Recommended databases | Construction materials | Drawings and case studies



Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.