Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Overview of building construction

Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of building construction | Recommended databases | Construction materials | Drawings and case studies

  • Art and Architecture encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

        Oxford Reference
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Art and Architecture encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

    Search or browse across ten subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 25,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

    Full record

  • Emporis Research

        Emporis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Emporis Research

    Updated continuously, Emporis provides data on architecture, construction, and real estate developments from all over the world. Search by company (consultancies, contractors, design firms, engineering firms, suppliers), building type, style, construction time frame (complete, under construction, approved, proposed, demolished, visionary, on hold), exact location and address, total height, structural height, number of floors and cubical space, date of construction project, structural system, materials, etc. Contains roughly 300,000 photos of buildings.  

    Full record

  • Knovel Online Interactive Library

        Knovel
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Knovel Online Interactive Library

    Knovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds. Limited to  simultaneous users.  

    Full record



Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.