Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Business information technology

This guide has been created to highlight resources most commonly used by those studying the following aspects of business information technology: computer systems, business modeling, decision sciences, and problem solving.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of business information technology | Recommended databases

  • INSPEC from Engineering Village

        Engineering Village
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

    INSPEC from Engineering Village

    Inspec indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. 1898-present.   

    Full record

  • Compendex from Engineering Village

        Engineering Village
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Compendex from Engineering Village

    Compendex indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. 1884-present.  

    Full record

  • ABI/INFORM from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    ABI/INFORM from ProQuest

    ABI/Inform indexes citations, abstracts, and full text news articles, market and SWOT analyses, industry reports, country reports, downloadable data sets, dissertations, business cases, working papers, annual reports from North American companies, and company profiles and histories. You can limit searches to peer-reviewed journals. Full text provided in HTML and PDF. 1971-present.  

     Full record

  • Factiva

        Factiva
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource

    Factiva

    Factiva provides full-text news articles and business/industry information from newswires, newspapers, business and industry magazines, television and radio transcripts, financial reports, and photos from news services. Most content is HTML, though other formats are available for export. News sources 1979-present; financial data 1960s-present.  

    Full record


  • Ellen Krupar
  • College Librarian for Business
  • (540) 231-4863
  • kellen@vt.edu
  • 1039 Pamplin Hall, 880 West campus Drive
    3032 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.