Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Biomedical engineering

The Virginia Tech-Wake Forest University School of Biomedical Engineering and Sciences (SBES) is a unique collaboration between Wake Forest University and Virginia Tech whose purpose is to "provide a framework for the generation and dissemination of knowledge through research and education for the improvement of human and animal health through cooperative advancement in engineering, science and medicine."

Getting started with academic research | Overview of biomedical engineering | Recommended databases


    Larry Thompson



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Related subject guides


Guides for finding engineering related information

Some engineering material can be difficult to locate. These reference sheets give general information about the resource as well as instructions on how to retrieve the material from the VT library collection.

  • AIAARefsheet - AIAA: American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics - technical papers
  • ASMERefsheet - ASME: American Society of Mechanical Engineers - technical papers
  • ASTMRefsheet- ASTM: American Society for Testing and Materials - standards and technical papers
  • EPARefsheet - EPA: Environmental Protection Agency - reports
  • NASARefsheet - NACA/NASA - technical reports
  • SAERefsheet - SAE: Society of Automotive Engineers - technical papers and standards
  • Engineering standards - standards from many engineering organizations
  • MSDS - Material Safety Data Sheets