Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Business and industry profiles

These database provide financial and market profiles of businesses, companies, and industries.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of business research | Recommenced databases | Business and company profiles

  • Company Profiles from LexisNexis

        LexisNexis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

    Company Profiles from LexisNexis

    Company Profiles contains data on more than 10,000 public and 200,000 private companies. Search by company name or stock ticker. The database includes profiles of companies and company executives, annual reports and other SEC filings, bankruptcy reports, merger and acquisition transactions, and earnings reports. It covers all US public companies, more than 200,000 private US companies, and many thousands of other companies around the world. Sources include Standard & Poor's Corporate Register and Hoover's Company Reports.  

    Full record

  • Company Dossiers from LexisNexis

        LexisNexis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

    Company Dossiers from LexisNexis

    Search by company name, stock ticker, or D-U-N-S number. A "snapshot" screen gives basic contact information, industry classification, a business description, stock quotes and charts, a summary of yearly financials, links to current, full-text news stories about the company, and lists of key competitors, executives, and members of the board of directors. Links to corporate hierarchies show parent and subsidiary companies. Other links give additional financial, legal and intellectual property information.  

    Full record

  • Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys from NetAdvantage

        Standard and Poor's
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys from NetAdvantage

    S&P Industry Surveys provides full-text reports in HTML and PDF on North American and global industries. To find the content you're looking for, use the Publication Search tool located in the right-hand corner of the page or the keyword search tool located in the blue title bar. You can also access Industry Surveys directly using the drop-down menus immediately below the Publication Search tool.  

    Full record

  • Hoover's Company Records from LexisNexis

        LexisNexis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Hoover's Company Records from LexisNexis

    Hoover's Company Records database contains information for more than 40,000 major public and private companies worldwide. In-Depth Records include overviews and histories, up to 10 years of key financial and employment data, lists of products and key competitors, names of key officers, addresses, and phone and fax numbers.  

    Full record

  • SEC Filings from LexisNexis

        LexisNexis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

    SEC Filings from LexisNexis

    SEC Filings contains the full text of EDGAR filings from 1993 as well as annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements of more than 4,000 US companies, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission since 1985. Full text available in HTML.  

    Full records

  • Mintel Oxygen Academic

        Mintel
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Mintel Oxygen Academic

    Mintel offers over 900 market research reports focused on the broad categories of: beauty and personal, drink, electronics, food and foodservice, health and medical, health and wellness, household, lifestyles, retailing and travel. The reports can be searched for product, brand name or keyword. Mintel also offers news articles related to marketing, reports of company management changes, and company profiles. 

    When logging into the database, you must accept conditions of use and login with your email and a password that you create. You must use your Virginia Tech email for this system. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

    Full record

  • MarketLine

        Marketline
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    MarketLine

    MarketLine provides searchable company, industry, and country information. Includes industry profiles (with size, segmentation, and competitive analysis); company profiles of 50,000 public and private companies; country profiles; three databases (base drivers, consumer markets, financial deals); as well as news, comment, and analysis.  

    Full record

  • Mergent Online

        Mergent
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

    Mergent Online

    Provides company, industry, and country reports for active and inactive, public and some private companies. Reports provided in PDF and can be exported as Word or Excel files. It includes 15 years of financial statement.  

    Full record

  • Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

        Wharton
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

    Wharton Research Data Service provides business data. It includes stock exchange (market-wide and company specific), balance sheet (company specific), income statement (company specific), bank, and macro economic information. Data on bonds, bills, inflation, stock and currency options (PHLX) is also included. To use WRDS, you must first submit an account request.  

    Full record


  • Ellen Krupar
  • College Librarian for Business
  • (540) 231-4863
  • kellen@vt.edu
  • 1039 Pamplin Hall, 880 West campus Drive
    3032 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.