This guide has been created to highlight resources most commonly used by those studying the following aspects of business: management, marketing, accounting, finance, and information technology.
ABI/Inform indexes citations, abstracts, and full text news articles, market and SWOT analyses, industry reports, country reports, downloadable data sets, dissertations, business cases, working papers, annual reports from North American companies, and company profiles and histories. You can limit searches to peer-reviewed journals. Full text provided in HTML and PDF. 1971-present.
Business Source Complete is a citation, abstracts, and full-text database that indexes journals; books; financial data; reference works; conference proceedings; company, industry, investment, marketing, and country reports; SWOT analyses; and case studies. Full text is provides as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1886-present; most content is 1980s-present.
Mintel offers over 900 market research reports focused on the broad categories of: beauty and personal, drink, electronics, food and foodservice, health and medical, health and wellness, household, lifestyles, retailing and travel. The reports can be searched for product, brand name or keyword. Mintel also offers news articles related to marketing, reports of company management changes, and company profiles.
When logging into the database, you must accept conditions of use and login with your email and a password that you create. You must use your Virginia Tech email for this system. Limited to simultaneous users.
MarketLine provides searchable company, industry, and country information. Includes industry profiles (with size, segmentation, and competitive analysis); company profiles of 50,000 public and private companies; country profiles; three databases (base drivers, consumer markets, financial deals); as well as news, comment, and analysis.
IBISWorld provides two types of business reports:
Industry Market Research: Reports (PDF) on over 700 US industries arranged by 5-digit NAICS code. Typically 25-50 pages in length with executive summaries, these reports are updated regularly.
Business Environment: Data and analysis (PDF and Word) on 200+ economic and demographic statistics, categorized in 7 'environments' that surround the economy. These 2-3 page reports are available on around 300 key business environment indicators.
Mergent Horizon provides reports about companies and industries. Comprehensive coverage is provided for all companies that are actively traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ--over 6,200 in total, with enhanced product-level detail for 3,700 companies in the healthcare, technology, media, and finance sectors.
Value Line provides full-text reports in HTML and PDF on investments, businesses, and industries. Major reports available include the Investment Survey, Mutual Fund Survey, Fund Advisor, Convertibles Survey, and ETF Survey. Most sections offer the latest few months of reports. It also provides delayed stock quotes, company news, market updates, portfolio tracking with alerts, and educational articles.
Factiva provides full-text news articles and business/industry information from newswires, newspapers, business and industry magazines, television and radio transcripts, financial reports, and photos from news services. Most content is HTML, though other formats are available for export. News sources 1979-present; financial data 1960s-present.