Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Environmental and water engineering

The Environmental and Water Resources Engineering Program offers graduate studies and research opportunities in the planning and design of a broad scope of environmental and water resources projects. The group is composed of 17 faculty members ranked in the top 10 at the graduate level by US News and World Reports.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of environmental and water engineering | Recommended databases

  • ASCE Civil Engineering Database

        ASCE Civil Engineering Database
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    ASCE Civil Engineering Database

    The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) indexes citations for all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers published by ASCE. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s.  

    Full record

  • Engineering Village

        Engineering Village
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Engineering Village

    Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and NTIS. Compendex indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. NTIS indexes citations and abstracts of National Technical Information Service reports and audiovisual materials from sources such as NASA and the departments of Energy and Defense. 1884-present.  

    Full record

  • Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management from ProQuest

    Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, government reports, and books in agricultural, natural science, technological, and engineering aspects of environmental sciences and pollution. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1967-present.  

    Full record

  • GeoRef from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only  Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    GeoRef from ProQuest

    GeoRef indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses in the geological sciences. It also includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1669-present (North America coverage); 1933-present (Worldwide coverage).  

    Full record

  • SciFinder

        SciFinder Scholar
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    SciFinder

    SciFinder indexes citations and abstracts from Chemical Abstract Services databases and MEDLINE including journal articles, patents, books, conference papers, dissertations, and reports. You can search text-based fields or draw chemical structures. You can perform cited reference searches. 1907-present. Limited to   simultaneous users. Registration required.

    Full record


    Larry Thompson


Bookmark and Share


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.