Geotechnical Engineering is the branch of civil engineering concerned with the design and construction of foundations, slopes, retaining walls, tunnels, levees, and similar facilities. It plays a key role in all civil engineering projects built on or in the ground, and is vital for the assessment of natural hazards such as earthquakes, liquefaction, sinkholes, rock falls, and landslides.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of geotechnical engineering | Recommended databases
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) indexes citations for all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers published by ASCE. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s.
Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and NTIS. Compendex indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. NTIS indexes citations and abstracts of National Technical Information Service reports and audiovisual materials from sources such as NASA and the departments of Energy and Defense. 1884-present.
GeoRef indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses in the geological sciences. It also includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1669-present (North America coverage); 1933-present (Worldwide coverage).
Science Citation Index, a subset of Web of Science, indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journal articles and conference proceedings in all science disciplines. You can search cited references. 1975-present (older data available in print).
Information on finding standards from ASABE, ASME, ASTM, IEEE, SAE J, military specifications, ordering standards via interlibrary loan, and standard indexes online.
Information on finding standards from ASABE, ASME, ASTM, IEEE, SAE J, military specifications, ordering standards via interlibrary loan, and standard indexes online.