Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Structural engineering and materials

The Graduate Structural Engineering and Materials Program at Virginia Tech provides graduate study and research opportunities in a broad range of subject areas in structural engineering and structural materials. The objective of the program is to provide a quality education that is well-balanced in theoretical and practical considerations. There is a general emphasis on application of computer techniques and on experimental research.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of structural engineering and materials | Recommended databases

  • ASCE Civil Engineering Database

        ASCE Civil Engineering Database
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    ASCE Civil Engineering Database

    The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) indexes citations for all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers published by ASCE. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s.  

    Full record

  • Engineering Village

        Engineering Village
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Engineering Village

    Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and NTIS. Compendex indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. NTIS indexes citations and abstracts of National Technical Information Service reports and audiovisual materials from sources such as NASA and the departments of Energy and Defense. 1884-present.  

    Full record

  • Science Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge

        ISI Web of Science
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Science Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

    Science Citation Index, a subset of Web of Science, indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all science disciplines. You can search cited references. 1975-present (older data available in print).   

    Full record


    Larry Thompson


Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.