Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of chemical engineering | Recommended databases | Properties of matertials
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on all areas of industrial chemistry. Use the Go here for SFX links to generate a Get VText window.
This encyclopedia presents articles on chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and use, in HTML and PDF. Use the "Go here for SFX" links to connect to Get VText.
Knovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds. Limited to simultaneous users.
Search or browse across the full text of over 1800 CRC engineering handbooks. Each chapter is available as a downloadable PDF. Our subscription does not include every ebook available through CRCnetBASE; be sure to limit to "Full access content only" when searching.
Searchable and browsable ebook version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Interactive tables allow live sorting, filtering, and exporting of the data. 92nd Edition, 2011-2012.
Chemistry: Foundations and Applications provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on all aspects of chemistry, including biographies of prominent chemists.