Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Chemistry

Chemistry is the study of the composition, structure, and properties of matter and the changes it undergoes during reactions. Some topics include elements, molecules, compounds, ions, pH, bonds, synthesis, spectroscopy, and chromatography. Students and researchers involved with analytical chemistry, physical chemistry, or inorganic, organic and/or polymer chemistry will find relevant resources here.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of chemistry | Recommended databases

  • SciFinder Scholar

        SciFinder Scholar
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    SciFinder Scholar

    SciFinder Scholar indexes citations and abstracts from Chemical Abstract Services databases and MEDLINE including journal articles, patents, books, conference papers, dissertations, and reports. You can search text-based fields or draw chemical structures. You can perform cited reference searches. 1907-present. Limited to   simultaneous users. Registration required.

    Full record

  • Reaxys

        Reaxys
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Reaxys

    Reaxys indexes citations, abstracts, full text, and cited reference for journal articles and patents in inorganic, organometallic, and organic chemistry. Search the usual text fields, or draw chemical structures to find matching citations. 1771-present.  

    Full record

  • Science Citation Index from ISI Web of Science

        ISI Web of Science
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Science Citation Index from ISI Web of Knowledge

    Science Citation Index, a subset of Web of Science, indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journal articles and conference proceedings in all science disciplines. You can search cited references. 1975-present (older data available in print).   

    Full record

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

        CRC Handbook
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

    CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

    Searchable and browsable ebook version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Interactive tables allow live sorting, filtering, and exporting of the data. 91st Edition, 2010-2011.  

    Full record

  • Polymers - A Property Database

        Polymer Database
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Polymers - A Property Database

    Polymers - A Property Database provides scientific and commercial information on polymers. Search by monomer, applications, properties (mechanical, electrical, calorimetric, solubility, or surface), or manufacturing process.  

    Full record

  • ChemIDplus Advanced from the NLM

        ChemIDplus from NLM
    This resource is freely accessible

    ChemIDplus Advanced from the NLM

    Searches the NLM ChemIDplus database of over 370,000 chemicals and displays numerous properties (and sometimes lists citations for sources of the data, but it does not search article citations directly). Allows various search capabilities beyond the Lite version including chemical structure, toxicity, and physical property searching. You will need a web browser that has a recent version of Java installed. There is a structure drawing and display applet named Marvin. An alternative method to provide the capabilities needed to accept a structure query is the Chime plug-in.

    Full record


    Ed Lener

  •     Ed Lener
  • Edward F Lener
  • College Librarian for Science
  • (540) 231-9249
  • (540) 231-2612 (Derring office)
  • lener@vt.edu
  • 4030 Newman Library
    3066A Derring Hall
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Chat Button

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.