Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Classics culture and history

These databases provide information on culture and history of the classical world.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of classics | Recommended databases | Classics culture and history

  • Daily Life Through History from Greenwood

        Greenwood (Daily Life Through History)
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Daily Life Through History from Greenwood

    Daily Life Through History provides full-text encyclopedic articles and primary documents in HTML on the Ancient Worlds and Mesoamerica, from Mesopotamia to Victorian England. Includes color and black-and-white images, illustrations, and maps, chronologies, bibliographies, glossaries, and lesson plans for teachers.  

    Full record

  • Perseus Digital Library

        Perseus
    This resource is freely accessible

    Perseus Digital Library

    Perseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.

    Full record

  • Historical Abstracts from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Historical Abstracts from EBSCOhost

    Historical Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, and dissertations that cover the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Full text available as HTML and PDF. The database allows limiting results to specific time periods (not just publication dates). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1800s-present.  

    Full record


  • Jennifer Nardine
  • Department Librarian for Performing Arts & Foreign Languages
  • (540) 231-4073
  • jnardine@vt.edu
  • 3007 Newman Library
    560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.