Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Classics

Research materials for classics support the study of the languages, literatures, art, history, and culture of the ancient Greek and Roman world.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of classics | Recommended databases | Classics culture and history

  • Année philologique

        L'Annee philologique

    L'Annee philologique

    L'Année philologique (The Year in Philology) is a print index contains citations of all known scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world in the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Each entry offers a one- or two-sentence summary of the content. Includes coverage of conference proceedings and book reviews. Coverage begins in 200 BCE and ends roughly in 800 AD.

    Full record

  • TOCS-IN Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists

        TOCS-IN
    This resource is freely accessible

    TOCS-IN Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists

    TOCS-IN indexes table of contents of journals of interest to classicists: classics, near Eastern studies, and religion. Some entries offer links to full text or abstracts. 1992-present

    Full record

  • MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of VirginiaContents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest

    MLA International Bibliography indexes citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present.  

    Full record


  • Jennifer Nardine
  • College Librarian for Performing Arts, Foreign Languages, English, and Religion & Culture
  • (540) 231-4073
  • jnardine@vt.edu
  • 3007 Newman Library
    560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.