Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Communication

Communication research at Virginia Tech two broad areas of teaching and research: mass communication (print and electronic journalism; media effects and criticism; film studies; communication history and law) and public communication (public relations and issue management; public advocacy; political communication; organizational communication).

Getting started with academic research | Overview of communicationRecommended databases

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Communication & Mass Media Complete from EBSCOhost

    CMMC indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles (HTML and PDF) from journals and conference papers in the communication field. This database also offers cited reference searching and author profiles that provide biographical data and bibliographic information on prolific authors in the discipline. You can limit to scholarly/peer reviewed sources. 1900-present.  

    Full record

  • Communication Abstracts from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Communication Abstracts from CSA

    Communication Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, conference papers, selected websites, and industry reports in all areas of communication, including film studies, technology, and business. You can to peer-reviewed sources. 1977-present.  

    Full record

  • LexisNexis Academic

        LexisNexis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

    LexisNexis Academic

    LexisNexis Academic is a collection of hundreds of databases covering topics such as news, business, legal research, people, and company information. The default start search form uses the Easy Search method in the General search tab. Select Power Search for more advanced search options. Use the Sources link to choose from individual databases. All content is full text in HTML. News sources 1977-present; legal source 1789-present.   

    Full record

  • College & University News from LexisNexis

        LexisNexis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

    College & University News from LexisNexis

    Includes college & university newspapers (the University Wire), the Collegiate Newswire, The Chronicle of Higher Education, and the TLS Times Higher Education Supplement. To limit to Collegiate Times articles, include "collegiate times" inside quotes with your search terms. All content is full text. 1997-present.  

    Full record

  • Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource 

    Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCOhost

    Newspaper Source Plus indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from more than 860 newspapers. Full-text articles are available in PDF format.The database covers major newspapers and television and radio news transcripts. 1985-present.  

    Full record

  • Project MUSE ejournals

        Project Muse
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Project Muse ejournals

    Project MUSE provides full-text access (in HTML and PDF) to over 400 journals in the humanities and social sciences. 1963-present.  

    Full record

  • ScienceDirect from SciVerse Hub

        ScienceDirect
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    ScienceDirect from SciVerse Hub

    A faceted-searching interface for ScienceDirect that also includes content from PubMed, ETDs, numerous journal publishers, and digital repositories. We do not subscribe to Scopus, so no results from that database are included. Full-text content restricted to Virginia Tech users, but searching citations and abstracts is not restricted.  

    Full record


    Heather Moorefield-Lang


Chat Button

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Related subject guides