Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Computer science

Computer science represents a very diverse area of study focusing around a body of core knowledge in the computing discipline.  At Virginia Tech, the Department of Computer Science focuses on several major tracks that reflect broad computer science topics in addition to the particular strengths of the faculty:  human computer interaction; knowledge, information, and data; media/creative computing; scientific computing; systems and networking.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of computer science | Recommended databases

  • ACM Digital Library

        Association of Computing Machinery
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon

    ACM Digital Library

    Journals, newsletters, and proceedings from the Association of Computing Machinery in PDF. Search, or browse by title. 1954-present.  

    Full record

  • IEEE Xplore Digital Library

        IEEE
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    IEEE Xplore Digital Library

    IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world’s highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. Full text content is provided as PDFs. 1893-present, full text from 1988-present.

    Full record

  • Engineering Village

        Engineering Village
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Engineering Village

    Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and NTIS. Compendex indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. NTIS indexes citations and abstracts of National Technical Information Service reports and audiovisual materials from sources such as NASA and the departments of Energy and Defense. 1884-present.  

    Full record

  • Lecture Notes in Computer Science from SpringerLink

        SpringerLink
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Lecture Notes in Computer Science from Springerlink

    Lecture Notes in Computer Science is a series of computer science books published by Springer Science+Business Media. It reports state-of-the-art research results in computer science, especially in the form of proceedings, post-proceedings and research monographs. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. In addition, tutorials, state-of-the-art surveys and "hot topics" are increasingly being included. 1997 (no. 1267)-present. (older issues available in print, search Addison)  

    Full record

  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Computers & Applied Sciences Complete from EBSCOhost

    Computers & Applied Sciences Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles (HTML and PDF) from journals, conference papers, books, interviews, product reviews, and reference works in computer science and business information systems. This database allows limiting to scholarly/peer-reviewed sources and provides cited reference searching for key journals. 1965-present.  

    Full record

  • Computer and Information Systems Abstracts from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Computer and Information Systems Abstracts from ProQuest

    Computer and Information Systems Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journals, patents, books, and more in the fields of computer science and information system, including business information systems. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.  

    Full record

  • Safari Books Online

        Sarafi Tech Books Online
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Safari Books Online

    Safari Books Online provides over 16,000 full-text ebooks (HTML) in computer science, information technology, and business. A few titles can be downloaded as PDFs.  

    Full record


    Rebecca Miller

  •     Rebecca Miller
  • Rebecca Miller
  • Assistant Director, Learning Services
  • (540) 231-9669
  • millerrk@vt.edu
  • 5003 Newman Library
    560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share




Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.