Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Crop and soil environmental sciences

Crop and soil environmental sciences is the study of crop production, soils and soil utilization, and environmental stewardship. Virginia Tech's degree and research emphasis is on soil-environmental sciences, agroecology, turfgrass management, biotechnology, international agriculture, aquatic resources, land resources, plant resources, and waste management.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of crop and soil environmental sciences | Recommended databases | Early literature

  • CAB Abstracts from CABDirect

        CAB
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    CAB Abstracts from CABDirect

    CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.  

    Full record

  • AGRICOLA from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    AGRICOLA from ProQuest

    AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.  

    Full record

  • Acta Horticulturae

        Acta Horticulturae
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Acta Horticulturae

    Acta Horticulturae provides the full text (PDF) of conference proceedings and technical reports from this peer-reviewed series of publications from the International Society of Horticultural Science. Content is searchable and browsable by publication year. 1963-present.  

    Full record

  • Plant Science from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Plant Science from ProQuest

    Plant Science indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, and books in the fields of plant and related life sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1994-present.  

    Full record

  • Ecology Abstracts from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Ecology Abstracts from ProQuest

    Ecology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books, and technical reports covering the ecological aspects of agriculture, biological sciences, and natural resources. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

    Full record

  • Tobacco Abstracts

        Tobacco Abstracts
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Tobacco Abstracts

    Tobacco Abstracts indexes citation and abstracts from journal articles and conference proceedings and the agricultural and medical aspects of tobacco. 2002-2010. (See Addison for earlier coverage).  

    Full record


    Margaret Merrill

  • Margaret Merrill
  • College Librarian for Agriculture & Life Sciences
  • (540) 231-9670
  • (540) 231-2322 (Saunders office)
  • 3340A Torgersen, 620 Drillfield Drive
    306E Saunders, 490 West campus Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share




Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.