Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of crop and soil environmental science | Recommended databases | Early literature
Up-to-date information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds and natural enemy species worldwide. Over 3,700 complete datasheets, provided by over 1,100 specialists. Data for over 200 different crops and over 150 countries, with global and regional distribution maps. Over 8000 images allowing for easy identification of crop pests. Background information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds, and natural enemy species providing a complete archive.
Plant Management Network indexes the full text of thousands of fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, conference papers, and training resources on applied plant science and other agricultural disciplines, plus articles from several plant science journals. Full text provides as PDFs. Also includes an image database of field crops, vegetables, fruits, trees, tropical plants, and turf grass. 2000-present.
Search or browse across 13 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 80,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 42,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
NASS allows searching and browsing of reports and data sets compiled by the National Agricultural Statistics Service. Reports cover virtually every facet of U.S. agriculture—production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, and other aspects of the farm industry. Data sets are commodity specific and contains many category breakdowns including U.S., state, and county crop and livestock data. Full-text reports available in PDF and text. Reports 1900s-present; data sets 1866-present.
CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Research summarized in reports in CRIS is often published elsewhere, and the report will note where publication was expected. 1966-present.
Tobacco in History and Culture: An Encyclopedia provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the agricultural, medical, social, and chemical aspects of tobacco and smoking.