Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Dairy science

This guide has been created to highlight resources most commonly used by those studying the following aspects of dairy science: nutrition, physiology, lactation, genetics, reproduction, and the business of dairy enterprise management.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of dairy science | Recommended databases | Early literature

  • Dairy science abstracts

        Dairy abstracts
    This resource is freely accessible

    Dairy science abstract

    Provides information on all aspects of milk production, secretion, processing, and milk products.1935-2005.

    SF221 .I36 SciTech Ref

  • CAB Abstracts from CABDirect

        CAB
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    CAB Abstracts from CABDirect

    CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.  

    Full record

  • AGRICOLA from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    AGRICOLA from ProQuest

    AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.  

    Full record

  • S-PAC Searchable Proceedings of Animal Conferences

        S-PAC  Searchable Proceedings of Animal Conferences
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    S-PAC: Searchable Proceedings of Animal Conferences

    S-PAC indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text conference proceedings on animal production and management. Full text available in PDF. 1935-present. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

    Full record

  • PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM

        National Library of Medicine
    This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM

    PubMed indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the life sciences, including the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Advanced search limits include types of articles (such as clinical trial, case reports, or review), human or animal studies, and age of subjects. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. 1947-present.  

    Full record

  • Biological Abstracts from homson Reuters Web of Knowledge

        ISI Web of Science
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Biological Abstracts from Thomson Web of Science

    Biological Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from life science journals and meeting reports. 1926-present.  

    Full record

  • ABI/INFORM from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    ABI/INFORM from ProQuest

    ABI/Inform indexes citations, abstracts, and full text news articles, market and SWOT analyses, industry reports, country reports, downloadable data sets, dissertations, business cases, working papers, annual reports from North American companies, and company profiles and histories. You can limit searches to peer-reviewed journals. Full text provided in HTML and PDF. 1971-present.  

     Full record


    Kiri Goldbeck DeBose

  •     Kiri Goldbeck DeBose
  • Kyrille K Goldbeck DeBose
  • College Librarian for Natural Resources and Environment and Animal Sciences
  • (540) 231-0495
  • (540) 231-0419 (Cheatham Hall office)
  • kdebose@vt.edu
  • 310 West Campus Drive, Cheatham Hall Room 315B
    560 Drillfield Drive, Newman Library Room 4005
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.