Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of dairy science | Recommended databases | Early literature
The Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences covers the core theories, methods, and techniques employed by dairy scientists. Included are numerous figures and tables illustrating the text as well as a color plate section in each volume. The inclusion of "Further Reading" lists at the end of each article provide easy access to further information and a guide into the primary literature.
SF229 .E52 2003 SciTech Ref
Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) provides detailed information on agricultural and biological sciences. It contains datasheets (HTML and PDF) on livestock and the diseases that affect them, datasheets on food safety and quality, and datasheets on countries' statistical data on animal and economic production. It also provides PDF and HTML full-text documents on all aspects of food animals as well as an index to citations for agricultural publications and nearly 2,000 images. A geographic database contains country distribution data for diseases and breeds for use with GIS software. 1910s-present.
Search or browse across 13 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 80,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
IBISWorld provides two types of business reports:
Industry Market Research: Reports (PDF) on over 700 US industries arranged by 5-digit NAICS code. Typically 25-50 pages in length with executive summaries, these reports are updated regularly.
Business Environment: Data and analysis (PDF and Word) on 200+ economic and demographic statistics, categorized in 7 'environments' that surround the economy. These 2-3 page reports are available on around 300 key business environment indicators.
The FAO catalog indexes documents published by FAO since 1945, books added to the FAO library since 1976, and journals held by the FAO library. Use interlibrary loan to obtain documents identified through this catalog.