Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Economics

Economics is the study of how scarce resources are allocated among competing uses to satisfy human wants. Economic analysis is directed at a wide range of problems, including inflation and recession, environmental problems, taxation decisions, regulatory and antitrust problems, forecasting, and managerial decision making. Virginia Tech students master the three fundamental activities used in economics: collection, analysis, and interpretation of economic data.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of economics | Recommended databases


  • Anita Walz
  • Open Education and Online Learning Environments Librarian
  • 540-231-2204
  • arwalz@vt.edu
  • 207B Newman Library (0434)
    560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.