Education research at Virginia Tech is encompassed in three departments: Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Learning Sciences and Technology, and Teaching and Learning. The School of Education’s focus is to prepare educational professionals in applied research.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of education | Recommended databases
ERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources for documents published since 2004. 1966-present.
Education Research Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, book chapters, case studies, essays, interviews, conference proceedings, product reviews, and experiments in all areas of education. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1865-present.
Teacher Reference Center indexes abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, directories, biographies, and case studies on all aspects of education.The full-text materials are available in both HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1984-present.
PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.
NCES issues numerous publications and datasets each year. These include: early releases, issue briefs, statistical reports, directories, and handbooks of standard terminology, plus library statistics. Reports presented as PDFs; data sets can be customized as HTML tables or downloaded in a variety of formats.
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections (RC) offers a comprehensive, easily searchable collection of more than 10,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education. The site offers the most current publications, as well as links to child care policy statements. 1972-present.