Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Case studies and building materials

These database provide information and resources for research on building materials used in environmental design and case studies of related projects.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of environmental design and planning | Recommended databases | Case studies and building materials

  • BuildingGreen Suite

        BuildingGreen Suite
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    BuildingGreen Suite

    BuildingGreen includes online versions of GreenSpec, "Environmental Building News", a database of green products (product descriptions and articles about the products), and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies (all in HTML). This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green building topic. 1992-present.  

    Full record

  • Material ConneXion

        Material ConneXion
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Material ConneXion

    Material ConneXion provides full-text data on materials used in architecture, interior and industrial design, fashion and apparel, and landscaping. Materials include polymers, ceramics, glass, metals, cements, and natural materials. Processing and sustainability information, physical and usage properties, and manufacturers are listed.  

    Full record

  • Emporis Research

        Emporis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Emporis Research

    Updated continuously, Emporis provides data on architecture, construction, and real estate developments from all over the world. Search by company (consultancies, contractors, design firms, engineering firms, suppliers), building type, style, construction time frame (complete, under construction, approved, proposed, demolished, visionary, on hold), exact location and address, total height, structural height, number of floors and cubical space, date of construction project, structural system, materials, etc. Contains roughly 300,000 photos of buildings.  

    Full record

  • ULI Development Case Studies

        Urban Land Institute
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible

    ULI Development Case Studies

    ULI Development Case Studies provides full-text case studies describing the development process of building projects (in HTML). Studies include general descriptions, contact information for the development team, the building site's background and history, special features of the project, what did and did not work on the project, key facts and figures, and photos of the site or floor plans. 1981-present. Limited to   simultaneous user.  

    Full record

  • Knovel Online Interactive Library

        Knovel
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Knovel Online Interactive Library

    Knovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds. Limited to  simultaneous users.  

    Full record



Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.