Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Children's literature

Children's literature is poetry, prose, and drama written for children under the age of 12. Young adult literature is sometimes included in the study of this genre. This genre is often illustrated.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of English language and literature | Recommended databases | American literature | British literature | Children's literature

  • Literature Resource Center from Gale

        Gale
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Literature Resource Center from Gale

    Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by the U.S., and English Authors Series. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.  

    Full record

  • MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of VirginiaContents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest

    MLA International Bibliography indexes citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present.  

    Full record

  • ERIC from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    ERIC from ProQuest

    ERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources for documents published since 2004. 1966-present.  

    Full record

  • International Children's Digital Library (ICDL) ebooks

        International Children's Digital Library
    This resource is freely accessible

    International Children's Digital Library (ICDL) ebooks

    The International Children's Digital Library provides over 4,000 ebooks written to appeal to 3 to 13 year olds. Each book was originally published in a printed form; the site includes both copyrighted and public domain titles. Scanned images (JPEG) or pages or spreads are presented for each book. Ebooks cannot be downloaded. Late1800s-present.

    Full record


    Monena Hall

  •     Monena Hall
  • Monena Hall
  • Community Engagement Librarian
  • (540) 231-5513
  • monenah@vt.edu
  • Newman Library
    560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.