English language and literature is study of literatures written in the English language (including literatures from the U.K., U.S., Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India, South Africa, and former British colonies), English linguistics (including English phonetics, phonology, syntax, morphology, semantics, pragmatics, corpus linguistics, and stylistics), and the history and use of the English language.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of English language and literature | American literature | British literature | Children's literature
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by the U.S., and English Authors Series. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
MLA International Bibliography indexes citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present.
Cross search both Something About The Author and Literature Criticism Online which includes Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. 1400s-present.
Humanities International Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books and book reviews, art work and images, performances and reviews, literature and criticisms, poems and short stories, and conference proceedings. Full text is available as HTML and PDF; images are available in a variety of formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1909-present.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, and some sciences. 1907-1984.