Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Environmental sciences

Environmental sciences are the study of all external conditions and influences affecting the development and life of organisms on the plant Earth. Environmental sciences are necessarily interdisciplinary drawing on the expertise of many scientific disciplines.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of environmental sciences | Recommended databases | Early literature

  • Environment Complete from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Environment Complete from EBSCOhost

    Environment Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books on the agricultural, biological, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1888-present.  

    Full record

  • Environment Abstracts from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Environment Abstracts from CSA

    Environment Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations, books, government studies and newsletters. It covers agricultural and biological science, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.

    Full record

  • CAB Abstracts from CABDirect

        CAB
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    CAB Abstracts from CABDirect

    CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.  

    Full record

  • Ecology Abstracts from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Ecology Abstracts from CSA

    Ecology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books, and technical reports covering the ecological aspects of agriculture, biological sciences, and natural resources. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

    Full record

  • Pollution Abstracts from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Pollution Abstracts from CSA

    Pollution Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from conference proceedings, journal articles, books, reports, and dissertations in the fields of air pollution, marine pollution, waste management, land pollution, toxicology and health, and radiation. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.  

    Full record

  • Sustainability Science Abstracts from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Sustainability Science Abstracts from CSA

    Sustainability Science Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, reports, theses, and dissertations in the fields of sustainable development, human population and demography, natural resource management, and conservation of natural resources. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1995-present.  

    Full record

  • GeoRef from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only  Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    GeoRef from CSA

    GeoRef indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses in the geological sciences. It also includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. You can't pre-limit to peer reviewed journal articles, but they can be displayed on a separate search results tab. 1669-present (North America coverage); 1933-present (Worldwide coverage).  

    Full record


    Margaret Merrill

  • Margaret Merrill
  • College Librarian for Agriculture & Life Sciences
  • (540) 231-9670
  • (540) 231-2322 (Litton Reaves office)
  • 3340A Torgersen
    1330 Litton Reaves
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Chat Button

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.