Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Legal databases

These databases index information on the legal aspects of business.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of business law | Recommended databases | Legal databases

  • Westlaw

        Westlaw
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Westlaw

    Westlaw is a primary online legal research service containing proprietary database services. Information resources on Westlaw include more than 40,000 databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources. Access is via individual password, available on request from the law librarian. Westlaw is contractually restricted to persons accessing data for educational purposes directly related to student coursework or for scholarly research.  

    Full record

  • Legal Collection from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Legal Collection from EBSCOhost

    The Legal Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles and case studies. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. 1965-present.  

    Full record

  • HeinOnline

        Hein Online
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

    HeinOnline

    HeinOnline provides full-text PDF legal documents organized into libraries: Law Journals (ABA, Core, Criminal Justice, International, Intellectual Property), Legal Classics, United States Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S Federal Legislative History, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, U.S. Presidential, Treaties and Agreements, Pentagon Papers, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, World Constitutions Illustrated, and the European Center for Minority Issues. 1200s-present.  

    Full record

  • Shepard's Citations from LexisNexis

        LexisNexis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Shepard's Citations from LexisNexis

    Shepard's Citations  provides a comprehensive case citation and treatment history to verify the validity of case law, statutes, agency opinions, and other legal documents. Only case law is covered in LexisNexis Academic. The Shepard's Citations service also provides a report that shows every opinion where that case has been referenced.  

    Full record

  • Federal & State Codes from LexisNexis

        LexisNexis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Federal & State Codes from LexisNexis

    Full text access to U.S. federal codes, the constitution, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register including annotations and summaries.  

    Full record

  • Federal & State Cases from LexisNexis

        LexisNexis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Federal & State Cases from LexisNexis

    Part of the legal section of LexisNexis Academic, Federal & State Cases allows searching of U.S. federal and state court cases by legal citation, topic, location, people, and time period. Cases present background information, summaries, opinions, and decisions with additional data supplied by LexisNexis to interpret the cases. 1750s-present.  

    Full record


  • Ellen Krupar
  • College Librarian for Business
  • (540) 231-4863
  • kellen@vt.edu
  • 1039 Pamplin Hall, 880 West campus Drive
    3032 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.