Research materials for French language and literature support the study of the language, literatures, art, history, culture, and business practices of France and other Francophone countries.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of French language and literature | Recommended databases
MLA International Bibliography indexes citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present.
ARTFL-FRANTEXT provides HTML full-text works ranging from classic French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
The ARTFL French Women Writers Project is a searchable database containing full-text works in HTML by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century. The Women Writers Project currently contains texts by 40 authors.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in the field of linguistics and related language sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.
Linguistic Bibliography Online indexes citations of journal articles and book chapters in linguistics. It includes publications from interdisciplinary fields, such as anthropology, psychology, sociology, philosophy and computer science and extensive coverage of non-Indo-European and lesser-known Indo-European languages. 1993-present.
The Gerritsen Collection contains full-text (PDF and TIFF) journals, books, and pamphlets covering the social science aspects of feminism and the women's rights movement. 1543-1945.