Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Genome databases

In modern molecular biology and genetics, the genome is the entirety of an organism's hereditary information. It is encoded either in DNA or, for many types of virus, in RNA. The genome includes both the genes and the non-coding sequences of the DNA/RNA. These databases provide sequenced genomes and related data sets.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of genetics, bioinformatics, and computational biology | Recommended databases | Early literature | Genome databases

  • Genome Database from NLM

        National Library of Medicine
    This resource is freely accessible

    Genome Database from NLM

    The Genome Database provides views for a variety of genomes, complete chromosomes, sequence maps with contigs, and integrated genetic and physical maps. The database is organized in six major organism groups: Archaea, Bacteria, Eukaryotae, Viruses, Viroids, and Plasmids and includes complete chromosomes, organelles and plasmids as well as draft genome assemblies.

    Full record

  • Genome Project Database from NLM

        National Library of Medicine
    This resource is freely accessible

    Genome Project Database from NLM

    Genome Project is a collection of complete and incomplete large-scale sequencing, assembly, annotation, and mapping projects for cellular organisms. The database is organized into organism-specific overviews that function as portals from which all projects in the database pertaining to that organism can be browsed and retrieved.

    Full record

  • UniGene Database from NLM

        National Library of Medicine
    This resource is freely accessible

    UniGene Database from NLM

    UniGene provides an organized view of the transcriptome. Each UniGene entry is a set of transcript sequences that appear to come from the same transcription locus (gene or expressed pseudogene), together with information on protein similarities, gene expression, cDNA clone reagents, and genomic location.

    Full record

  • GSS Database from NLM

        National Library of Medicine
    This resource is freely accessible

    GSS Database from NLM

    The GSS database contains all records found within the Genome Survey Sequence (GSS) division of GenBank. GSS records contain first-pass single-read genomic sequences and rarely include annotated biological features.

    Full record

  • dbGaP Database from NLM

        Entrez databases from NLM
    This resource is freely accessible

    dbGaP Database from NLM

    The database of genotype and phenotype (dbGaP) stores phenotype and genotype data, as well as the associations between them. Data for dbGaP will include genome-wide association studies, medical sequencing, and molecular diagnostic assays. Summaries of phenotype and genotype data as well as study documents and association analyses (when available) will be found on the public site. Authorized access may be required for downloading coded individual-level phenotypes genotypes and pedigrees.

    Full record


    Margaret Merrill

  • Margaret Merrill
  • College Librarian for Agriculture & Life Sciences
  • (540) 231-9670
  • (540) 231-2322 (Saunders office)
  • 3340A Torgersen, 620 Drillfield Drive
    306E Saunders, 490 West campus Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share




Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.