Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of genetics, bioinformatics, and computational biology | Recommended databases | Early literature | Genome databases
This encyclopedia covers the four major fields in genetics. Content is available in HTML and PDF. To access this publication, you must first establish an account and then login. Click on the Register link to set up an account.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders provides articles in HTML and PDF on the health and medical aspects of genetic disorders.
Search or browse across 13 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 80,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
The NCBI Bookshelf hosts full-text books (mostly as PDFs) that can be searched or browsed. Titles are also linked from other NCBI databases such as PubMed.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science is a series of computer science books published by Springer Science+Business Media. It reports state-of-the-art research results in computer science, especially in the form of proceedings, post-proceedings and research monographs. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. In addition, tutorials, state-of-the-art surveys and "hot topics" are increasingly being included. 1997 (no. 1267)-present. (older issues available in print, search Addison)
Synthesis is a collection of about 200 ebooks in engineering and the sciences. Complete list of books. The basic component is a 50-100 page ebook called a Lecture that synthesizes important research or development topics, authored by a prominent contributor to the field that provide more synthesis, analysis, and depth than typical journal articles. Each ebook is a single PDF. 2005-present.