Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Overview of geography: culture, regions, and international development

Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of culture, regions, and international development | Recommended databases | Health/medicine databases | Gender, religion, and society databases

  • Encyclopedia of human geography

        Encyclopedia of human geography
    This resource is freely accessible

    Encyclopedia of human geography

    The approximately 300 entries in this encyclopedia of human geography cover cartography and geographic information systems, economic geography, geographic theory and history, political geography, social and cultural geography, and urban geography. Entries are cross-referenced and provide guides to further reading.

    GF4 .E54 2006 Newman 3rd Floor

  • International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences

        International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
    This resource is freely accessible

    International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences

    The International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. It comprises 4,000 articles, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    H41 .I58 2001 Newman Reference

  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)

        Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)

    EIU provides economic profiles and reports that assess and forecast political, economic and business conditions for almost 200 countries. Each report examines and explains in depth the issues shaping these countries: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments. Detailed 2 year forecasts complement the analysis and pinpoint political and economic developments and trends.  

    Full record

  • Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO

        Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
    This resource is freely accessible

    Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO

    Country Profiles and Mapping Information System provides country-level reports and statistical data in FAO "fields of expertise" (namely sustainable development, economic situation, agriculture/ forestry/ fishery sectors, technical cooperation) and "priority areas" (biodiversity, biosecurity, biotechnology, climate change, ecosystem management, emergency operations, ethics, food for cities, gender, global studies, information management, integrated production systems, organic farming, spatial information, sustainable livelihoods, trade agreements).

    Full record

  • General Social Surveys, 1972-2008 from ICPSR

        ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    General Social Surveys, 1972-2008 from ICPSR

    Contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions and statistics, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The latest cumulative file covers 1972-2008 and includes 5364 variables, time-trends for 1,988 variables, and 257 trends having 20+ data points. You must create a MyData account at ICPSR before downloading the data.  

    Full record

  • U.S. Census Data from ICPSR

        ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    U.S. Census Data from ICPSR

    ICPSR provides both census microdata and aggregate data acquired from the Census Bureau. Microdata is the individual responses to census questions while aggregate data contains tabulations of the individual responses at various levels, such as states, counties, and census tracts. 1940s-present.  

    Full record


    Kiri Goldbeck DeBose

  •     Kiri Goldbeck DeBose
  • Kyrille K Goldbeck DeBose
  • College Librarian for Natural Resources and Environment
  • (540) 231-0495
  • (540) 231-0419 (Cheatham Hall office)
  • kdebose@vt.edu
  • 310 West Campus Drive, Cheatham Hall Room 315B
    560 Drillfield Drive, Newman Library Room 4005
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.