Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000002

    Knovel
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Introduction to the Physics and Techniques of Remote Sensing

The purpose of this text is to provide the basic scientific and engineering background for students and researchers interested in remote sensing and its applications. It addresses (1) the basic physics involved in wave–matter interactions, which is the fundamental element needed to fully interpret the data; (2) the techniques used to collect the data; and (3) the applications to which remote sensing is most successfully applied. This is done keeping in mind the broad educational background of interested readers. The text is self-comprehensive and requires the reader to have the equivalent of a junior level in physics, specifically introductory electromagnetic and quantum theory.

The text is divided into three major parts. After the introduction, Chapter 2 gives the basic properties of electromagnetic waves and their interaction with matter. Chapters 3 through 7 cover the use of remote sensing in solid (including ocean) surface studies. Each chapter covers one major part of the electromagnetic spectrum (visible/near infrared, thermal infrared, passive microwave, and active microwave, respectively). Chapters 8 through 12 cover the use of remote sensing in the study of atmospheres and ionospheres. In each chapter, the basic interaction mechanisms are covered first. This is followed by the techniques used to acquire, measure, and study the information (waves) emanating from the medium under investigation. In most cases, a specific advanced sensor flown or under development is used for illustration.

The text is generously illustrated and includes many examples of data acquired from spaceborne sensors. As a special feature, sixteen of the illustrations presented in the text are reproduced in a separate section of color plates.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.