<?xml version="1.0"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom">
<channel>	
 <atom:link href="http://www.lib.vt.edu/subject-guides/GEOG/maps-rss2.xml" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
 <title>Maps, cartography, and GIS resources</title>
 <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/subject-guides/GEOG/maps.html</link>
 <description></description>
 <language>en</language>
 <pubDate>Tue, 28 Jun 2011 13:27:30 -0400</pubDate>
 <managingEditor>kgoldbec@vt.edu</managingEditor>
 <webMaster>kgoldbec@vt.edu</webMaster>
 <docs>http://cyber.law.harvard.edu/rss/rss.html</docs>
 <image>
  <url>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/librarians/S_goldbeck-kiri-pic.jpg</url>
  <title>Kiri Goldbeck DeBose</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/subject-guides/GEOG/maps.html</link>
 </image>
 <item>
  <title>Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/C/country-profiles-and-mapping-information-system-from-fao.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; float: left; width: 200px;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/F/S_fao.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations&quot; height=&quot;122px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.fao.org/countryprofiles/default.asp?lang=en&quot; title=&quot;Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://www.fao.org/countryprofiles/default.asp?lang=en&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;Country Profiles and Mapping Information System provides country-level reports and statistical data in FAO &quot;fields of expertise&quot; (namely sustainable development, economic situation, agriculture/ forestry/ fishery sectors, technical cooperation) and &quot;priority areas&quot; (biodiversity, biosecurity, biotechnology, climate change, ecosystem management, emergency operations, ethics, food for cities, gender, global studies, information management, integrated production systems, organic farming, spatial information, sustainable livelihoods, trade agreements).&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/C/country-profiles-and-mapping-information-system-from-fao.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/C/country-profiles-and-mapping-information-system-from-fao.html</guid>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Reports, standards, and financials</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>National Map from the USGS</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/N/national-map-from-the-usgs.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; width: 200px; float: left;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/N/S_nat-map.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;National Map&quot; height=&quot;126px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://nationalmap.gov/&quot; title=&quot;National Map from the USGS&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://nationalmap.gov/&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;National Map from the USGS&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;The National Map&lt;/i&gt; includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. Other types of geographic information can be added within the viewer or brought in with &lt;i&gt;The National Map&lt;/i&gt; data into a Geographic Information System to create specific types of maps or map views. The US Topo Maps module provides electronic access to topological maps previously received in print.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/N/national-map-from-the-usgs.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/N/national-map-from-the-usgs.html</guid>
  <category>Multimedia</category>
  <category>Statistics and data sets</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>TIGER/Line Files @ ICPSR</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/T/tiger-line-files-at-icpsr.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; float: left; width: 200px;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/I/S_icpsr.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research&quot; height=&quot;154px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_vtonly.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; width=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/TIGER/index.html&quot; title=&quot;TIGER/Line Files @ ICPSR&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/TIGER/index.html&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;TIGER/Line Files @ ICPSR&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;TIGER/Line Files&lt;/i&gt; provides data sets from the Census Bureau&apos;s TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing) database. Data for individual states can be downloaded. &lt;span class=&quot;majax-erm-advisory&quot; title=&quot;e1000238&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/T/tiger-line-files-at-icpsr.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/T/tiger-line-files-at-icpsr.html</guid>
  <category>Statistics and data sets</category>
  <category>Restricted to Virginia Tech users</category>
 </item>        
</channel> 
</rss>