Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Maps, cartography, and GIS resources

These databases provide map and GIS resources based on research topics in the Geography department.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of geospatial and environmental analysis | Recommended databases | Maps, cartography, and GIS resources | Meteorology and weather resources

  • Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO

        Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
    This resource is freely accessible

    Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO

    Country Profiles and Mapping Information System provides country-level reports and statistical data in FAO "fields of expertise" (namely sustainable development, economic situation, agriculture/ forestry/ fishery sectors, technical cooperation) and "priority areas" (biodiversity, biosecurity, biotechnology, climate change, ecosystem management, emergency operations, ethics, food for cities, gender, global studies, information management, integrated production systems, organic farming, spatial information, sustainable livelihoods, trade agreements).

    Full record

  • National Map from the USGS

        National Map
    This resource is freely accessible

    National Map from the USGS

    The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. Other types of geographic information can be added within the viewer or brought in with The National Map data into a Geographic Information System to create specific types of maps or map views. The US Topo Maps module provides electronic access to topological maps previously received in print.

    Full record

  • TIGER/Line Files @ ICPSR

        ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only 

    TIGER/Line Files @ ICPSR

    TIGER/Line Files provides data sets from the Census Bureau's TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing) database. Data for individual states can be downloaded.  

    Full record


    Kiri Goldbeck DeBose

  •     Kiri Goldbeck DeBose
  • Kyrille K Goldbeck DeBose
  • College Librarian for Natural Resources and Environment and Animal Sciences
  • (540) 231-0495
  • (540) 231-0419 (Cheatham Hall office)
  • kdebose@vt.edu
  • 310 West Campus Drive, Cheatham Hall Room 315B
    560 Drillfield Drive, Newman Library Room 4005
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.


Maps in microforms (PDF | 8KB)