<?xml version="1.0"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom">
<channel>	
 <atom:link href="http://www.lib.vt.edu/subject-guides/HIST/civil-war-rss2.xml" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
 <title>U.S. Civil War</title>
 <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/subject-guides/HIST/civil-war.html</link>
 <description></description>
 <language>en</language>
 <pubDate>Tue, 28 Jun 2011 13:27:30 -0400</pubDate>
 <managingEditor>bpencek@vt.edu</managingEditor>
 <webMaster>bpencek@vt.edu</webMaster>
 <docs>http://cyber.law.harvard.edu/rss/rss.html</docs>
 <image>
  <url>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/librarians/S_pencek-bruce-pic.jpg</url>
  <title>Bruce Pencek</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/subject-guides/HIST/civil-war.html</link>
 </image>
 <item>
  <title>HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I &amp; II (1857-1877)</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/H/harpweek-the-civil-war-era-and-reconstruction-I-and-II-1857-1877.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; width: 200px; float: left;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/H/S_harpweek.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Harp Week&quot; height=&quot;147px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_vtonly.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; width=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_viva.gif&quot; title=&quot;Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia&quot; width=&quot;36&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://app.harpweek.com/&quot; title=&quot;HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I &amp;amp; II (1857-1877)&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://app.harpweek.com/&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I &amp;amp; II (1857-1877)&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;Browse, search, and retrieve full page images of &lt;em&gt;Harper&apos;s Weekly&lt;/em&gt;, which chronicles the events of the American Civil War and reconstruction years. Page images are JPG; full text is HTML and PDF. &lt;i&gt;Harper&#8217;s Weekly&lt;/i&gt; is a consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century. &lt;span class=&quot;majax-erm-advisory&quot; title=&quot;e1000152&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/H/harpweek-the-civil-war-era-and-reconstruction-I-and-II-1857-1877.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/H/harpweek-the-civil-war-era-and-reconstruction-I-and-II-1857-1877.html</guid>
  <category>Article searching</category>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Handbooks and manuals</category>
  <category>Multimedia</category>
  <category>Newspapers and magazines</category>
  <category>Poetry and short stories</category>
  <category>Restricted to Virginia Tech users</category>
  <category>VIVA</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>Making of America from Cornell University</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/M/making-of-america-from-cornell-university.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; width: 200px; float: left;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/M/S_moa.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Making of America&quot; height=&quot;207px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_summon.gif&quot; title=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://dlxs2.library.cornell.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?xc=1&amp;amp;page=simple&amp;amp;g=moagrp&quot; title=&quot;Making of America from Cornell University&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://dlxs2.library.cornell.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?xc=1&amp;amp;page=simple&amp;amp;g=moagrp&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Making of America from Cornell University&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;Making of America&lt;/i&gt; provides digital reproductions of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure. Content is provided in text, GIF, and PDF formats. Major segments of this collection include magazines, ebooks, and Civil War documents. 1840-1900.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/M/making-of-america-from-cornell-university.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/M/making-of-america-from-cornell-university.html</guid>
  <category>Ebook packages</category>
  <category>Ejournal packages</category>
  <category>Newspapers and magazines</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
  <category>Contents of database in Summon</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System from the National Parks Service</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/C/civil-war-soldiers-and-sailors-system-from-the-national-parks-service.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; float: left; width: 200px;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/N/S_nps.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;National Park Service&quot; height=&quot;109px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.itd.nps.gov/cwss/&quot; title=&quot;Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System from the National Parks Service&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://www.itd.nps.gov/cwss/&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System from the National Parks Service&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;Contains basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides of the Civil War. Facts are from records that are indexes of other documents about Union and Confederate Civil War soldiers maintained by the National Archives and Records Administration. Also includes histories of regiments in both the Union and Confederate Armies and descriptions of 384 significant battles of the war. Currently contains over 6 million soldier names from 44 states and territories.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/C/civil-war-soldiers-and-sailors-system-from-the-national-parks-service.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/C/civil-war-soldiers-and-sailors-system-from-the-national-parks-service.html</guid>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>Documenting the American South (DocSouth)</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/D/documenting-the-american-south-docsouth.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; float: left; width: 200px;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/D/S_docsouth.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Documenting the American South&quot; height=&quot;128px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://docsouth.unc.edu/browse/collections.html&quot; title=&quot;Documenting the American South (DocSouth)&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://docsouth.unc.edu/browse/collections.html&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Documenting the American South (DocSouth)&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;A digital publishing initiative that provides online access to primary sources such as texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently &lt;i&gt;DocSouth&lt;/i&gt; includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, maps, literary works, oral history interviews, and songs. 1500s-present.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/D/documenting-the-american-south-docsouth.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/D/documenting-the-american-south-docsouth.html</guid>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Multimedia</category>
  <category>Music recordings and scores</category>
  <category>Narratives, diaries, and letters</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
  <category>Poetry and short stories</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography from Greenwood</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/A/american-slavery-composite-autobiography-from-greenwood.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; float: left; width: 200px;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/G/S_greenwood.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Greenwood&quot; height=&quot;146px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_vtonly.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; width=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_summon.gif&quot; title=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://gem.greenwood.com/ip.asp?c=1054&quot; title=&quot;American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography from Greenwood&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://gem.greenwood.com/ip.asp?c=1054&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography from Greenwood&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;American Slavery&lt;/i&gt; contains both an overview of the collection of former slave narratives with related links (available without charge from the home page) and the collection of narratives themselves. Each narrative is delivered as a PDF as originally transcribed, with some interviews available as sound files. Searchable by name of narrator, interviewer, or master, the county or state where the narrator lived in slavery, the narrator&apos;s age or year of birth, or the location of the material in the print version (volume and page). 1920s-1940s (original interviews). &lt;span class=&quot;majax-erm-advisory&quot; title=&quot;e1000149&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/A/american-slavery-composite-autobiography-from-greenwood.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/A/american-slavery-composite-autobiography-from-greenwood.html</guid>
  <category>Multimedia</category>
  <category>Narratives, diaries, and letters</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
  <category>Restricted to Virginia Tech users</category>
  <category>Contents of database in Summon</category>
 </item>        
</channel> 
</rss>