The listed databases provide full-text, historical news articles: newspapers, magazines, and other historical publications. Use these databases to find contemporary news accounts, reviews, biographies, advertising, and illustrations. See also the list of databases that index citations of news articles, but do not provide full text.
Getting started with academic research | General news sources | Historical news sources | Citation-only news databases
ProQuest Historical Newspapers allows cross searching of full-text national newspapers back to issue one. Full text available as scanned images and PDF. 1847-2007.
ProQuest Historical Periodicals indexes citations and full text of 200 years of American magazines and journals and important newspapers of record. 1740-2007.
American Periodicals Series Online contains over 1,100 full-text periodicals (in HTML and PDF) that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including scholarly, special interest, and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Covers all academic disciplines including the sciences, though news and literary magazines are most prevalent. An excellent source of primary documents.
Cover-to-cover reproductions of 1,000+ US newspapers in PDF. Restrict searches to dates/eras, article types (news & opinion, election returns, letters, poetry/songs, legislative, prices, advertisements, matrimony & death notices), region/state, and newspaper name. Includes the digital versions of the Early American Newspapers microforms collection, African American Newspapers 1827-1998, and a collection of Virginia newspapers (labeled Selected Historical Newspapers).
America's Historical Imprints is a digital collection containing virtually every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America over a 200-year period. It is comprised of a vast range of publications, including advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties, and more. Scanned pages available as JPEG, TIFF, and PDF.
Browse, search, and retrieve full page images of Harper's Weekly, which chronicles the events of the American Civil War and reconstruction years. Page images are JPG; full text is HTML and PDF. Harper’s Weekly is a consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century.
Allows searching and viewing newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and finding information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Full-text newspapers from Arizona, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington are currently available.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete, searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. Content emphasizes business and economics, but world politics, science, technology, and culture are also covered. Pages display as JPEGs; use the Save button to generate a PDF of the entire article.
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive indexes full-text articles from the paper as well as provides full page facsimiles (JPEG). Articles or pages can be exported as image-PDF, but no text version is available.
The Times Digital Archive indexes the full text of The Times (London). Pages and articles provided as PNGs and PDFs. You can limit to advertising, editorials, pictures, and stories about people.
British Periodicals is a collection of digitized periodicals covering the humanities, performing arts, history, science, architecture, and especially literature. Documents are available as high-resolution images and downloadable PDFs. Browse individual journals or search across the collection. All content is indexed, including advertising. Searches can be limited to multimedia types, including maps, illustrations, comics, photos, and music scores. 1681-1939.