Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

History

History is the gathering, organizing, and interpretation of evidence (documentary, physical, or authoritative oral report) of past events. To be manageable, the general field can be divided in many ways, so researchers should be aware that the geographic division in these subject guides between American and world history is rough and contested. Many kinds of information sources, such as news sources and government documents, may be primary sources for some purposes but secondary sources for others.

The databases listed on this page are useful for general history research.

Getting started with academic research | Recommended databases | U.S. history | World history | Primary sources


    Bruce Pencek

  •     Bruce Pencek
  • Bruce Pencek
  • College Librarian for Social Sciences & History
  • (540) 231-2140
  • (540) 231-2140 (Newman Library 3050 office -- for most purposes)
  • bpencek@vt.edu
  • 3050 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.