Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of world history | Recommended databases | General history databases
Search or browse across 32 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 100,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
Search or browse across six subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including more than 8,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
History in Dispute provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on a thematic, era, or subject-specific focus Features include excerpts from primary source documents to illuminate the viewpoints presented with each entry; photographs and drawings of individuals, sites, objects or documents pertinent to the event or topic; and a chronological list of events.
Biography in Context provides access to over 600,000 biographies in HTML sourced from reference works, news reports, magazines and academic journals. It provides links to related websites, images, audio, and video clips.
Daily Life Through History provides full-text encyclopedic articles and primary documents in HTML on the Ancient Worlds and Mesoamerica, from Mesopotamia to Victorian England. Includes color and black-and-white images, illustrations, and maps, chronologies, bibliographies, glossaries, and lesson plans for teachers.
The Encyclopedia of Russian History provides full-text reference essays in HTML and PDF on the agriculture, architecture, economic, education, social science, arts, humanities, and literature from Russian history.