Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

World history

World history brings a global perspective to the study of historical events anywhere, but information resources tend treat world history as a catch-all, geographically as history of everywhere but the Americas (see the American history subject guide) and chronologically as beginning in the European renaissance. For earlier periods, see the Classical studies and Medieval and early modern studies subject guides. The subject guide for Area studies identifies library resources about individual countries and global regions, although historical coverage in those resources generally (though not exclusively) do not extend more than a few decades before the present.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of world history | Recommenced databases | Primary sources | General history databases

  • Historical Abstracts from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Historical Abstracts from EBSCOhost

    Historical Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, and dissertations that cover the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Full text available as HTML and PDF. The database allows limiting results to specific time periods (not just publication dates). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1800s-present.  

    Full record

  • Iter Bibliography

        ITER
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

    Iter Bibliography

    The Iter Bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). It indexes citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts, and discographies), as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, Festschriften, encyclopedias, and exhibition catalogues). Use the Check for full text link to connect to Get VText. 1784-present.

    Full record

  • History of Science, Technology, and Medicine from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

    History of Science, Technology, and Medicine from EBSCOhost

    The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine database indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, maps, and other materials on the history of science, medicine, and technology. 1600s-present.  

    Full record


    Bruce Pencek

  •     Bruce Pencek
  • Bruce Pencek
  • College Librarian for Social Sciences & History
  • (540) 231-5806 (Lane Hall 311 office -- during regular office hours)
  • (540) 231-2140 (Newman Library 3050 office -- for most purposes)
  • bpencek@vt.edu
  • 3050 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    311 Lane Hall, 280 Alumni Mall
    Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.