Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of Human nutrition, foods, and exercise | Recommended databases | Exercise, physiology, and kinesiology
The ADA Nutrition Care Manual provides full text of the handbook in HTML. Browse by section - Risk Screen, Diseases, Nutrition Care, Calculators, Formulary, Client Education, Meal Plans, Resources, ADA Catalog - or search by keyword. The sections are organized to lead to specific information related to a topic and are often more useful than the search option.
Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z is a searchable and browseable encyclopedia covering topics in general nutrition, food science, and human development.
Search or browse across four subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 7500 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
Health Source: Consumer Edition indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from consumer health magazines, books, academic journals, pamphlets, reference works (including the full text of Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary), and Clinical Reference Systems reports. Full text is available in PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1984-present.
Consumer Health Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from many different source types: evidence-based reports, reference works including medical dictionaries and encyclopedias, fact sheets and pamphlets, news articles, drug information, and multimedia files. You can search by disease, condition, injury, or procedure.