Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Overview of horticulture

Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of horticulture | Recommended databases | Early literature

  • Crop Protection Compendium Online from CABI

        Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Crop Protection Compendium Online from CABI

    Up-to-date information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds and natural enemy species worldwide. Over 3,700 complete datasheets, provided by over 1,100 specialists. Data for over 200 different crops and over 150 countries, with global and regional distribution maps. Over 8000 images allowing for easy identification of crop pests. Background information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds, and natural enemy species providing a complete archive.  

    Full record

  • Plant Management Network

        Plant Management Network
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Plant Management Network

    Plant Management Network indexes the full text of thousands of fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, conference papers, and training resources on applied plant science and other agricultural disciplines, plus articles from several plant science journals. Full text provides as PDFs. Also includes an image database of field crops, vegetables, fruits, trees, tropical plants, and turf grass. 2000-present.

    Full record

  • PLANTS Database from the USDA

        USDA PLANTS
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    PLANTS Database from the USDA

    The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Fact Sheets provide brief descriptions of a plant, its uses, and cultural recommendations. Plant Guides are similar but more extensive. Both are provided as PDFs. The database also includes an image gallery of photos and line drawings of U.S. plants plus cultivated or foreign taxa.

    Full record

  • Biological Sciences encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

        Oxford Reference
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Biological Sciences encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

    Search or browse across 13 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 80,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

    Full record

  • National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA

        USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA

    NASS allows searching and browsing of reports and data sets compiled by the National Agricultural Statistics Service. Reports cover virtually every facet of U.S. agriculture—production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, and other aspects of the farm industry. Data sets are commodity specific and contains many category breakdowns including U.S., state, and county crop and livestock data. Full-text reports available in PDF and text. Reports 1900s-present; data sets 1866-present.

    Full record


    Margaret Merrill

  • Margaret Merrill
  • College Librarian for Agriculture & Life Sciences
  • (540) 231-9670
  • (540) 231-2322 (Saunders office)
  • 3340A Torgersen, 620 Drillfield Drive
    306E Saunders, 490 West campus Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share




Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.