Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

IDS 4044 Professional practice and entrepreneurship

Using the University Libraries

The University Libraries website will serve as the main portal for most of your research. Fram the main website, you'll be able to:

Frequently used industrial design/PP+E databases

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index from ProQuest

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index from ProQuest

DAAI indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, news reports, and reviews on design and applied arts (including performing arts-related design). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.  

Full record

ABI/INFORM from ProQuest

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ABI/INFORM from ProQuest

ABI/Inform indexes citations, abstracts, and full text news articles, market and SWOT analyses, industry reports, country reports, downloadable data sets, dissertations, business cases, working papers, annual reports from North American companies, and company profiles and histories. You can limit searches to peer-reviewed journals. Full text provided in HTML and PDF. 1971-present.  

 Full record

MarketLine

    Marketline
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

MarketLine

MarketLine provides searchable company, industry, and country information. Includes industry profiles (with size, segmentation, and competitive analysis); company profiles of 50,000 public and private companies; country profiles; three databases (base drivers, consumer markets, financial deals); as well as news, comment, and analysis.  

Full record

Mintel Oxygen Academic

    Mintel
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Mintel Oxygen Academic

Mintel offers over 900 market research reports focused on the broad categories of: beauty and personal, drink, electronics, food and foodservice, health and medical, health and wellness, household, lifestyles, retailing and travel. The reports can be searched for product, brand name or keyword. Mintel also offers news articles related to marketing, reports of company management changes, and company profiles. 

When logging into the database, you must accept conditions of use and login with your email and a password that you create. You must use your Virginia Tech email for this system. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Factiva

    Factiva
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Factiva

Factiva provides full-text news articles and business/industry information from newswires, newspapers, business and industry magazines, television and radio transcripts, financial reports, and photos from news services. Most content is HTML, though other formats are available for export. News sources 1979-present; financial data 1960s-present.  

Full record

Mergent Online

    Mergent
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

Mergent Online

Provides company, industry, and country reports for active and inactive, public and some private companies. Reports provided in PDF and can be exported as Word or Excel files. It includes 15 years of financial statement.  

Full record

IBISWorld

    IBISWorld
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

IBISWorld

IBISWorld provides two types of business reports:

Industry Market Research: Reports (PDF) on over 700 US industries arranged by 5-digit NAICS code. Typically 25-50 pages in length with executive summaries, these reports are updated regularly.

Business Environment: Data and analysis (PDF and Word) on 200+ economic and demographic statistics, categorized in 7 'environments' that surround the economy. These 2-3 page reports are available on around 300 key business environment indicators.

Full record

Business Source Complete from EBSCOhost

    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Business Source Complete from EBSCOhost

Business Source Complete is a citation, abstracts, and full-text database that indexes journals; books; financial data; reference works; conference proceedings; company, industry, investment, marketing, and country reports; SWOT analyses; and case studies. Full text is provides as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1886-present; most content is 1980s-present.  

Full record

General/interdisciplinary databases

Many databases also provide interfaces compatible with your mobile. See our mobile databases page for a complete list.

Locating other information

Get VText and interlibrary loan

Some, but not all, of our databases will include full-text articles. When the article needed is not available in the database, look for the Get VText button or link to access the article elsewhere.

Use ILLiad, our interlibrary loaning system, to borrow materials and obtain copies of articles not owned by the University Libraries.

Keeping up with the latest research in environmental design

Evaluating information

Regardless of the type of information that you are using, you always need to consider the authority, coverage, objectivity, accuracy, and currency of the information.  University Libraries offers several guides on evaluating information:

Citation and style guides

The University Libraries offers a comprehensive web page relating to citation and style manuals. This page will guide you to both print and electronic resources.

Managing your research

Get your bibliography under control quickly and easily! Citation, or reference, managers are very helpful when you are collecting, organizing, and retrieving large amounts of research.  At University Libraries, we recommend the following tools for research management.  Although we only "officially" support EndNote, I am happy to talk about other tools, as well.

Questions?

Schedule a one-on-one appointment with your subject librarian if you have any other questions or concerns. Also see our information for all College Librarians. If you have a question that needs immediate assistance, the reference desk at the Art + Architecture Library is staffed during all library hours. You can also use our Ask a Librarian system for chat service.



Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.