Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Industrial design

Industrial design is the professional service of creating and developing concepts and specifications that optimize the function, value and appearance of products and systems for the mutual benefit of both user and manufacturer. Industrial designers develop these concepts and specifications through collection, analysis, and synthesis of data guided by the special requirements of the user, client, and manufacturer. They are trained to prepare clear and concise recommendations through drawings, models, and verbal descriptions. The tools listed below range from article databases (some containing full-text) to indexes for design materials and products, information about patents, and resources for the professional practice of industrial design.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of industrial design | Recommended databases | Professional practice resources | Materials, products, and patents



Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Related subject guides