Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Materials, products, and patents

These databases provide information on the materials, products, and related patents used in industrial design.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of industrial design | Recommended databases | Professional practice resources | Materials, products, and practices

  • Material ConneXion

        Material ConneXion
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Material ConneXion

    Material ConneXion provides full-text data on materials used in architecture, interior and industrial design, fashion and apparel, and landscaping. Materials include polymers, ceramics, glass, metals, cements, and natural materials. Processing and sustainability information, physical and usage properties, and manufacturers are listed.  

    Full record

  • Compendex from Engineering Village

        Engineering Village
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Compendex from Engineering Village

    Compendex indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. 1884-present.  

    Full record

  • Materials Business File from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Materials Business File from ProQuest

    Materials Business File indexes citations and abstracts of industry news, product and process developments, plant development and construction, international trade data, government regulations, management issues, and other business and industry information in engineering fields. Sources include newspapers, magazines, and journals, books and book chapters, conference papers, reports, dissertations, and patents. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1962-present.  

    Full record

  • ThomasNet Product Catalog

        ThomasNet
    This resource is freely accessible

    ThomasNet Product Catalog

    ThomasNet provides information and reports on products, services, and suppliers of products manufactured in North America where you can place orders online; view and download millions of computer aided design (CAD) drawings; view thousands of online company catalogs and websites. You can search by: Product or service, company name, or, brand name and limit by geographic location. (Parts of this database are limited to subscribers; the VT Libraries does not subscribe to these parts.)

    Full record

  • Patent Search from the US Patent and Trademark Office

        US Patent and Trademark Office
    This resource is freely accessible

    Patent Search from the US Patent and Trademark Office

    Contains issued patents and submitted patent applications. Patents from 1790 through 1975 are searchable only by Issue Date, Patent Number, and Current US Classification. When searching for specific numbers in the Patent Number field, patent numbers must be seven characters in length, excluding commas. How to view patent images. 1790-present.

    Full record



Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Related subject guides