Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, find handbooks that cover processes and materials, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of industrial and systems engineering | Recommended databases | Management and behavioral databases
Search or browse across the full text of over 1800 CRC engineering handbooks. Each chapter is available as a downloadable PDF. Our subscription does not include every ebook available through CRCnetBASE; be sure to limit to "Full access content only" when searching.
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of psychiatry and psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics. Full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1930-present.
The Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries provides full-text reference essays in HTML and PDF on the business aspects of growing business sectors. Essays include an industry snapshot, organization, background information, pioneering individuals, current conditions, industry leaders, work force data, areas of research, and suggested further reading.
Knovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds. Limited to simultaneous users.
Information on finding standards from ASABE, ASME, ASTM, IEEE, SAE J, military specifications, ordering standards via interlibrary loan, and standard indexes online.
This list of resources will enable you to retrieve most U.S. patents or trademarks, if you have a specific citation. However, if you have a product idea and want to determine if a similar item has been patented, searching these resources to determine patentability may be difficult.