Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Law

These resources are intended to support classes where legal research is an element of the curriculum. For most undergraduate classes, LexisNexis Academic is sufficient. For graduate classes where complex legal research is expected, Westlaw may be necessary as a supplement to LexisNexis Academic.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of law | Recommended databases

  • LexisNexis Academic

        LexisNexis
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

    LexisNexis Academic

    LexisNexis Academic is a collection of hundreds of databases covering topics such as news, business, legal research, people, and company information. The default start search form uses the Easy Search method in the General search tab. Select Power Search for more advanced search options. Use the Sources link to choose from individual databases. All content is full text in HTML. News sources 1977-present; legal source 1789-present.   

    Full record

  • HeinOnline

        Hein Online
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

    HeinOnline

    HeinOnline provides full-text PDF legal documents organized into libraries: Law Journals (ABA, Core, Criminal Justice, International, Intellectual Property), Legal Classics, United States Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S Federal Legislative History, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, U.S. Presidential, Treaties and Agreements, Pentagon Papers, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, World Constitutions Illustrated, and the European Center for Minority Issues. 1200s-present.  

    Full record

  • ProQuest Congressional

        ProQuest Congressional
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    ProQuest Congressional

    ProQuest Congressional indexes citation to and provides some full text for congressional publications and legislative history. 1969-present.  

    Full record

  • Legal Collection from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Legal Collection from EBSCOhost

    The Legal Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles and case studies. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. 1965-present.  

    Full record

  • Westlaw

        Westlaw
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    Westlaw

    Westlaw is a primary online legal research service containing proprietary database services. Information resources on Westlaw include more than 40,000 databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources. Access is via individual password, available on request from the law librarian. Westlaw is contractually restricted to persons accessing data for educational purposes directly related to student coursework or for scholarly research.  

    Full record

  • Legislative Information System from the Virginia General Assembly

        Legislative Information System
    This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

    Legislative Information System from the Virginia General Assembly

    The Legislative Information System includes general information about the legislative process and its participants as well as the full text, summaries, status history of bills and resolutions and schedules of activity. Full text searching is also available for the Code of Virginia, Virginia Administrative Code, Bills and Resolutions, and House and Senate Documents.  

    Full record



Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.